Board of Library Trustees

Read library board bylaws and contact all elected library trustees at

Board meetings

Our Board of Library Trustees generally meets at 6:30 pm on the fourth Tuesday of each month unless otherwise noted on the library calendar.

Open to the public, meetings are typically held in the Main Library’s second-floor Scoville Room and live-streamed via Zoom. Agendas and links are posted 48 hours before meeting start times on the library website (see below), the library calendar, and library community bulletin boards at all three locations. Find 2023 board meeting information here »

March 26, 2024

April 23, 2024

May 28, 2024

June 25, 2024

July 23, 2024

August 27, 2024

September 24, 2024

October 22, 2024

November 19, 2024

December 17, 2024

Public comments

Public comments are permitted during the time designated on the library Board agenda, unless otherwise directed by the Board president. Public comments may be provided in one of the following ways: 

Public comments submitted in writing or by voicemail should be three minutes or less, will be shared with the board in advance of the meeting, and may be read or played aloud during the public comment section of the board agenda. Read more in the Public Comment at Board Meetings Policy »

About your trustees

Virginia Bloom

Virginia Bloom

Vice President, Library Anti-Racism Advisory Team Representative, term ends 2027

Bloom moved to Oak Park in 2012 and currently lives within walking distance of the Maze Branch Library. She has previously volunteered as a site captain for PADS/Housing Forward and served on their Shelter Committee. When she is not reading or listening to podcasts, she sings with her a cappella group and enjoys Oak Park’s many walks and parks.

Madhurima Chakraborty

Madhurima Chakraborty

Library Finance Officer, term ends 2025

Chakraborty is Associate Professor in the English and Creative Writing Department at Columbia College Chicago, where she is also serving as the President of the Faculty Senate. She lives with her husband and son in South Oak Park.

Susanne Fairfax

Library Board Secretary, term ends 2027

Fairfax is a writer, photographer, and filmmaker who works in nonprofit communications. She has served on numerous committees and boards in Oak Park and beyond with emphases on equity, media, literature, and sustainability. She moved to Oak Park with her wife 16 years ago and has become deeply connected with the community and immersed in efforts to make it even better.

Theodore Foss

Theodore N. Foss

Trustee, PlanIt Green Liaison, term ends 2025

Foss is a 20-year resident of Oak Park. He has been an administrator and Chinese historian at the University of Chicago, Stanford University, and the University of San Francisco. Foss also has served on a number of national and local boards, including the Frank Lloyd Wright Preservation Trust. In his spare time Foss is an avid music advocate and gardener.

Matthew Fruth

Matthew Fruth

Library Board President, term ends 2025

Maya L. Ganguly

Trustee, term ends 2025

Kristina Rogers

Friends of the Oak Park Public Library Board Liaison, term ends 2027

Rogers works in the early childhood field, on community systems change. She received a Master of Science degree in Public Service Management from DePaul University, where she participated in a short-term study abroad program in Northern Ireland to explore their peace and reconciliation efforts. She lives near the the Dole Branch Library with her husband, toddler, and dog. 

Prevailing Wage Rates

On Tuesday, June 26, 2018, the Oak Park Public Library Board of Trustees passed a Resolution Adopting Prevailing Wage Rates to be Paid to Laborers, Mechanics, and other Workers Performing Construction of Public Works for the Oak Park Public Library, Cook County, Illinois. A copy of that resolution is available upon request. Please use the following links to the Illinois Department of Labor (current prevailing wage rates and Cook County table by title [pdf]) to see the prevailing wage schedule for our county.