Friends of the Library

How annual Friends’ memberships support literacy & learning in Oak Park

Your annual Friends membership helps Oak Parkers in multiple ways. Funds raised support a love of reading through targeted programs. Memberships also connect community, bringing free, engaging events for all ages to Oak Park, including:

Become a Friend of the Oak Park Public Library

Since 1948, the Friends of the Oak Park Public Library have been building valuable bridges between the library and community and raising funds, as an individual 501c3 nonprofit organization, for the library.

Choose the annual membership level that’s best for you

Let the Friends know if you want to give in someone else’s honor and if you work for a company that participates in employee matching gifts (also known as matching funds).

  • Patron Members ($25-$49): Receive an early/free admission to the Annual Book Fair at any membership level
  • Donor Members ($50-$99): Be listed in the library’s annual report, and the benefit listed above
  • Benefactor Members ($100-$499): Receive priority seating at Friends events, and all benefits listed above
  • Sustaining Members ($500-$999): Be named on a bookplate in a library volume, and all benefits listed above
  • Scoville Circle Members ($1,000+): Be recognized on a library plaque, enjoy an exclusive behind-the-scenes tour of the Main Library, and all benefits listed above

Friends’ meetings & leadership

Typically the Friends Board of Trustees meets on the fourth Monday of every other month at 7:30 pm in the Main Library second floor Scoville Room. Please see the library calendar for specific dates, locations, and times »

2021 Board Meetings

2020 Board Meetings

2019 Board Meetings

2018 Board Meetings

Friends Board Members

  • Joe Larscheid, President (term ending March 2023)
  • Paul Buchbinder, Vice President (term ending March 2022)
  • Denise Roser, Treasurer (term ending March 2022)
  • Doris Adamczewski, Secretary (term ending March 2023)
  • Lori Bradford (term ending March 2022)
  • Doug Deuchler (term ending March 2022)
  • Russell Glidden (term ending March 2023)
  • Nancy Hartman (term ending March 2022)
  • Paul Koko (term ending March 2023)
  • Chet Taranowski (term ending March 2023)

Ex Officio

  • Sarah Glavin, Library Trustee
  • David Seleb, Library Executive Director

Stay current on news and new arrivals.

Close Bitnami banner